0
research-article

An experimental study of the chip formation during turning of Ti64 ?

[+] Author and Article Information
Vincent Wagner

Laboratoire Génie de Production (LGP) INP-ENIT, Université de Toulouse, Tarbes, France
vincent.wagner@enit.fr

Floran Barelli

HAM France Andreas Maier Chemin de la Forêt, Peillonnex 74250, France
floran.barelli@ham-france.fr

Gilles Dessein

Laboratoire Génie de Production (LGP) INP-ENIT, Université de Toulouse, Tarbes, France
gilles.dessein@enit.fr

Raynald Laheurte

I2M, UMR 5295 Université de Bordeaux Talence, France
raynald.laheurte@u-bordeaux.fr

Philippe Darnis

I2M, UMR 5295 Université de Bordeaux Talence, France
philippe.darnis@u-bordeaux.fr

Olivier Cahuc

I2M, UMR 5295 Université de Bordeaux Talence, France
o.cahuc@i2m.u-bordeaux1.fr

Mousseigne Michel

Institut Clément Ader Université de Toulouse Toulouse, France
michel.mousseigne@univ-tlse3.fr

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4038597 History: Received June 09, 2017; Revised November 20, 2017

Abstract

In recent years many titanium alloys have emerged, each of them associated with a range of different heat treatments. Thus, several microstructures have been studied to varying degrees. For example, the Ti64 titanium alloy, mostly known for its a + ß structure, can display a di?erent state: the structure, inducing nonstandard mechanical behaviours. This work presents chip formation in this specific microstructure where a strong heterogeneity is observed and where the shear band formation is a function of the relationship between the shear direction and the microstructure orientation. From these reasons, major di?erences are observed in the chip morphology, within the same cutting condition, in comparison to the bimodal structure where a single chip morphology is obtained for each cutting condition. A section of this paper is devoted to the presentation of the beta microstructure where di?erent configurations can be seen within the same chip. Next, the influence of cutting conditions on the chip formation is studied. Finally, the discussion explains the di?erent chip formation scenarios according to the workpiece microstructure to be cut.

Copyright (c) 2017 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Discussions

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In