Retired Associate Editors PUBLIC ACCESS

J. Manuf. Sci. Eng 133(6), 060201 (Dec 27, 2011) (2 pages) doi:10.1115/1.4005403 History: Received October 05, 2011; Revised October 28, 2011; Published December 27, 2011; Online December 27, 2011

It is time again to recognize the dedication and exceptional service of the members of the Editorial team of the JMSE whose terms have recently expired. I would like to take this opportunity, on behalf of the entire manufacturing community, to thank them for their outstanding work that has significantly contributed to the continuing growth of the Journal.

Shaochen Chen is a Professor in the Nanoengineering Department at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD). He is also a faculty member of the Institute of Engineering in Medicine at UCSD. From 2008 to 2010, Dr. Chen served as the Program Director for the Nanomanufacturing Program in the National Science Foundation (NSF), where he directed the frontiers of nanomanufacturing research at NSF and managed 150 active grants of the program. Dr. Chen’s primary research interests include the following: Biomaterials and Biofabrication, Nano-Regenerative Medicine, Laser Nanomanufacturing, Nanophotonics, Plasmonics, and Metamaterials, Bio and Nano Mechanics. Among his numerous awards, Dr. Chen received the CAREER award from NSF in 2001 for cutting-edge research in laser nanoscale processing of biodegradable polymers.

Jongqin Lin received his B.S. in Ship Engineering (1982), M.S. in Structure Engineering (1986), and Ph.D. in Structure Engineering (1989) from Shanghai Jiaotong University. In 1989, he joined the faculty as Assistant Professor (Mechanical Engineering). In 1992, he became Associate Professor (Mechanical Engineering). Since 1995, Dr. Lin has been Professor (Mechanical Engineering) and is currently Changjiang Chair Professor and Vice President at Shanghai Jiaotong University. He is actively involved in professional organizations serving as Chair, Society of Advanced Design of Shanghai, Vice Chair, Society of Automobile Engineering of Shanghai, and Vice Chair, Society of Mechanical Engineering of Shanghai. Dr. Lin is the recipient of numerous awards including the Jiang Outstanding Science and Technology Achievement Award, HK, and the GM-CNSF Outstanding Science and Technology Achievement Award.

Shreyes N. Melkote holds the Morris M. Bryan Jr. Professorship in Advanced Manufacturing Systems in the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering at Georgia Tech. He currently serves as the Interim Director of the Georgia Tech Manufacturing Research Center. Dr. Melkote obtained his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Michigan Technological University in 1993. He did postdoctoral work at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign prior to joining Georgia Tech in 1995. Dr. Melkote’s current research activities are in laser-based hybrid processes, micromachining, machining process modeling, photovoltaic manufacturing, and surface integrity enhancement methods. Dr. Melkote is a recipient of several honors including the ASME Blackall Machine Tool and Gage Award, the SME Dell K. Allen Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award, and several Best Paper Awards at leading ASME and SME conferences. He is an ASME Fellow and Scientific Committee Chair of the North American Manufacturing Research Institution of the SME (NAMRI/SME).

Lih-Sheng (Tom) Turng is currently a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Wisconsin–Madison. He is also Co-Director of the Polymer Engineering Center and Director of the Tissue Engineering Research Theme at the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery. He has been working in the area of injection molding and has extended his research into nanocomposites, bio-based polymers, and tissue engineering scaffolds. He has received numerous grants and awards and published over 200 peer-reviewed technical papers and has authored or edited a dozen books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and special issue journals. At present, Professor Turng serves as a member of the Board of Directors of the Injection Molding Division of the Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE). In addition, he is on the Editorial Board for several international journals.

Gloria J. Wiens is currently an associate professor in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University of Florida, Gainesville, FL. She holds a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from The University of Michigan, and M.S. and B.S. in mechanical engineering from Kansas State University. Since receiving her Ph.D. degree in 1986, she has served on the faculty of State University of New York-Binghamton, Auburn University and University of Florida where she has been for the past 16 years. Dr. Wiens’ areas of research interest are Robotics, Spatial Mechanisms, System Dynamics and Controls with applications in Space, Reconfigurable Micro/Small Satellite Deployable Systems, Automation, MEMS/Biomedical Devices, and Micro/Mesoscale Manipulation/Manufacturing. Professor Wiens has held/holds numerous positions in ASME including Manufacturing Engineering Division Chair (1998-99), member of Mechanisms Committee (1991–1996, 2006–2012), member of Micro/Nano-Scale Systems (MNS) Committee (2005–present), MNS Program and Conference Chair for iDETC/CIE 2008 and 2009, respectively, and Conference Micro and Nano Technologies Track chair for 2008 MSEC.

Copyright © 2011 by American Society of Mechanical Engineers
This article is only available in the PDF format.





Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In